Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn

A tailor in disguise. Three legendary dresses. The competition of a lifetime.

'An amazing creation!' Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

On the fringes of the Great Spice Road, Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land - but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. Then a royal messenger summons her ailing father to court, and Maia seizes her chance. Disguised as a man, she travels to the Summer Palace in her father's place to compete for the emperor's favour, and the coveted position of imperial tailor.

If Maia's ruse is discovered, her life will be forfeit. But if she wins, she will achieve her greatest dream.

Yet nothing could have prepared her for the challenge ahead: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's bride-to-be. One from the laughter of the sun, one from the tears of the moon, and one from the blood of stars.

Accompanied by the mysterious court enchanter, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise, Maia's journey will take her to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renee Ahdieh.

Praise for Spin the Dawn

'Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster' Entertainment Weekly

'Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling' NPR

'All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest . . . a stunning tapestry of adventure' The Washington Post

  • Format: Paperback | 416 pages
  • Dimensions: 131 x 198 x 29mm | 291g
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2021
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperback
  • Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 1529362903
  • ISBN13: 9781529362909
  • Bestsellers rank: 844

More Books:

Spin the Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Elizabeth Lim
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A tailor in disguise. Three legendary dresses. The competition of a lifetime. 'An amazing creation!' Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author Project
Unravel the Dusk
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Elizabeth Lim
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-01 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Three magical gowns. Two kingdoms on the brink of war. One chance to save them all. Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when she wove the dresses of the s
Theoretical and Quantum Chemistry at the Dawn of the 21st Century
Language: en
Pages: 696
Authors: Tanmoy Chakraborty
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-19 - Publisher: CRC Press

This volume, edited by a well-known specialist in the field of theoretical chemistry, gathers together a selection of papers on theoretical chemistry within the
The Heralds of the Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 93
Authors: William Watson
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1912 - Publisher:

Spin the Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Turtleback Books Publishing, Limited
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-06-02 - Publisher: Turtleback Books

The Dawn of the Drone
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Steve Mills
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12-27 - Publisher: Casemate

In the dark days of World War I, when flying machines, radio, and electronics were infant technologies, the first remotely controlled experimental aircraft took
The Dawn in Britain
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Charles Montagu Doughty
Categories: Great Britain
Type: BOOK - Published: 1906 - Publisher:

The Dawn
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories: Christian socialism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1890 - Publisher:

The Lords of Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: George Turner Marsh
Categories: Japan
Type: BOOK - Published: 1916 - Publisher:

Spinning Flight
Language: en
Pages: 346
Authors: Ralph D. Lorenz
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-02-02 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

More frisbees are sold each year than baseballs, basketballs and footballs combined. Yet these familiar flying objects have subtle and clever aerodynamic and gy