Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn

A tailor in disguise. Three legendary dresses. The competition of a lifetime.

'An amazing creation!' Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

On the fringes of the Great Spice Road, Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land - but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. Then a royal messenger summons her ailing father to court, and Maia seizes her chance. Disguised as a man, she travels to the Summer Palace in her father's place to compete for the emperor's favour, and the coveted position of imperial tailor.

If Maia's ruse is discovered, her life will be forfeit. But if she wins, she will achieve her greatest dream.

Yet nothing could have prepared her for the challenge ahead: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's bride-to-be. One from the laughter of the sun, one from the tears of the moon, and one from the blood of stars.

Accompanied by the mysterious court enchanter, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise, Maia's journey will take her to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renee Ahdieh.

Praise for Spin the Dawn

'Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster' Entertainment Weekly

'Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling' NPR

'All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest . . . a stunning tapestry of adventure' The Washington Post

  • Format: Paperback | 416 pages
  • Dimensions: 131 x 198 x 29mm | 291g
  • Publication date: 09 Mar 2021
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperback
  • Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 1529362903
  • ISBN13: 9781529362909
  • Bestsellers rank: 844

More Books:

Spin the Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Elizabeth Lim
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-09 - Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a teenage girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossi
Spin the Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Elizabeth Lim
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A tailor in disguise. Three legendary dresses. The competition of a lifetime. 'An amazing creation!' Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author Project
Unravel the Dusk
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Elizabeth Lim
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-07 - Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

From the New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes a fantasy filled with courtly intrigue, deceitful demons, and breathtaking gowns ... the
Changed by the Dragon (Dragons of Ylvris 1)
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Eliott Fray
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-05 - Publisher: Siren-BookStrand

[Siren Classic ManLove: Erotic Romance, Alternative, Fantasy, Shape-shifters, Action/Adventure, MM, HEA] In a world of wizards, Dawn Caithis has no magic, but t
SPIN
Language: en
Pages: 100
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-07 - Publisher:

From the concert stage to the dressing room, from the recording studio to the digital realm, SPIN surveys the modern musical landscape and the culture around it
Harmonize Your Home and Office
Language: en
Pages: 145
Authors: Diana Anderson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-01 - Publisher: Diana Anderson

You spend a lot of time in your home and office. These environments surround you with electronic frequencies that could be out of harmony with nature and your n
Physics from Planet Earth - An Introduction to Mechanics
Language: en
Pages: 611
Authors: Joseph C. Amato
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-11 - Publisher: CRC Press

Expose Your Students to the Elegant World of Physics in an Enticing WayPhysics from Planet Earth - An Introduction to Mechanics provides a one-semester, calculu
Dawn Light: Dancing with Cranes and Other Ways to Start the Day
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Diane Ackerman
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-09-28 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

A celebrated storyteller-poet-naturalist explores a year of dawns in her most personal book to date. In an eye-opening sequence of personal meditations through
Six Crimson Cranes
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: Elizabeth Lim
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-07-26 - Publisher: National Geographic Books

A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from 'The Wild Swans' and East Asian folklore, this breat
A History and Critical Analysis of Blake's 7, the 1978-1981 British Television Space Adventure
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: John Kenneth Muir
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-03-09 - Publisher: McFarland

Blake's 7, Terry Nation's science fiction tale of cosmic freedom fighters, became a hit series in Great Britain when it premiered in 1978. Eight years later, th