Ariadne

Ariadne : The Mesmerising Sunday Times Bestselling Retelling of Ancient Greek Myth

Ariadne : The Mesmerising Sunday Times Bestselling Retelling of Ancient Greek Myth

A mesmerising retelling of the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Perfect for fans of CIRCE, A SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF THE GIRLS.

'Here, Ariadne takes centre stage in a lyrical, insightful re-telling that explores her motivations and emotions and the grievances caused by grumpy, cold-hearted gods and warm-blooded men, who are equally vengeful and self-interested - Daily Mail

'The story is well known, of course, but Saint tells it skilfully and, like Miller and Haynes, gives a twist to familiar myth by offering the perspective of women characters' - The Sunday Times

As Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up hearing the hoofbeats and bellows of the Minotaur echo from the Labyrinth beneath the palace. The Minotaur - Minos's greatest shame and Ariadne's brother - demands blood every year.

When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives in Crete as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne falls in love with him. But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that in a world ruled by mercurial gods - drawing their attention can cost you everything.

In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne's decision to betray Crete for Theseus ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover's ambition?

ARIADNE gives a voice to the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths, and speaks to their strength in the face of angry, petulant Gods. Beautifully written and completely immersive, this is an exceptional debut novel.

Praise for Jennifer Saint and ARIADNE:

'Exquisitely written and exceptionally moving, this is a mythical retelling to savour.' - Elodie Harper, author of THE WOLF DEN

'ARIADNE gives voice to the misused Princess of Crete who betrayed her father to save Theseus from the Minotaur. Relevant and revelatory.' - Stylist

'With her wonderfully executed debut that reimagines the classic tale of Theseus, Adriane and the Minotaur, Jennifer
Saint joins the likes of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker in forging mesmerising retellings of ancient Greek myths from a female perspective.' - Waterstones.com

'Saint's immersive novel thrusts the reader straight into the heart of Greek mythology with this wonderful reimagining of the story of Ariadne.' - iPaper

'What happens after the monster is defeated and the princess leaves with the hero? Jennifer Saint's ARIADNE is a shimmering tapestry of two sisters bound by deceit and the shadows of family history. . .With a fresh voice and keen insight, Saint adds flesh and bone to an ancient myth, drawing the reader into an uneasy world of ever-afters.' - Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of THE NIGHT TIGER

  • Format: Paperback | 400 pages
  • Dimensions: 128 x 196 x 28mm | 280g
  • Publication date: 03 Feb 2022
  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • Imprint: Wildfire
  • Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 1472273907
  • ISBN13: 9781472273901
  • Bestsellers rank: 251

More Books:

Ariadne's Lives
Language: en
Pages: 221
Authors: Nina daVinci Nichols
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1995 - Publisher: Fairleigh Dickinson Univ Press

By taking an unconventional view of the well-known myth of Theseus, Ariadne, and the Minotaur on Crete, Ariadne's Lives breaks new ground and will cause some co
Ariadne's Thread
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: J. Hillis Miller
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1995-02-22 - Publisher: Yale University Press

"What line should the critic follow in explicating, unfolding, or unknotting . . . passages? How should the critic thread her or his way into the labyrinthine p
Ariadne's Clue
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Anthony Stevens
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001-04-22 - Publisher: Princeton University Press

Symbolism is the most powerful and ancient means of communication available to humankind. For centuries people have expressed their preoccupations and concerns
To Nietzsche: Dionysus, I Love You! Ariadne
Language: en
Pages: 308
Authors: Claudia Crawford
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 1995-01-01 - Publisher: SUNY Press

This book explores the possibility that Friedrich Nietzsche simulated his madness as a form of "voluntary death," and thus that his madness functioned as the sy
Ariadne
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Ouida
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1877 - Publisher:

Ariadne's Thread
Language: en
Pages: 548
Authors: William F. Hansen
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Cornell University Press

"Ariadne's Thread is a mini-encyclopedia of more than a hundred such international oral tales, all present in the literature of ancient Greece and Rome. It take
Ariadne
Language: en
Pages: 109
Authors: Arav Sri Agarwal
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12-01 - Publisher: Arav Sri Agarwal

Ariadne: Living Life Right, was born out of Arav Sri Agarwal's personal reflections on life and how to approach it. It is about exploring philosophy (and its br
Ariadne
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Jennifer Saint
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-30 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A mesmerising retelling of the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Perfect for fans of CIRCE, A SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF THE GIRLS. 'Her
Ariadne’s War
Language: en
Pages: 228
Authors: John Sinisi
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-02-20 - Publisher: Book Venture Publishing LLC

Bezriel is the home of sorcery powerful enough to transform the world. For many Bezrielites, including the powerful young sorceress, Ariadne, sorcery is the mys
Ariadne's Thread
Language: en
Pages: 221
Authors: Laura Perry
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-30 - Publisher: Moon Books

The myths of ancient Crete, her people, and their gods twine through our minds like the snakes around the priestess's arms in those ancient temples. They call t